Thread: Low tone - we have a diagnosis...

jeninnc is offline INCIIDer - A Community Creator

Default Low tone - we have a diagnosis...

For Lacey (7). I am kicking myself for not seeing it earlier. The OT at school did an informal evaluation as a favor to me - Ellie's got her wrapped around her finger and the OT loves her!

They wont serve her though as it is not impacting her enough to have her fall below her grade level. Insert me rolling my eyes. Any ideas about forcing the issue or am I out of luck?

Mild hypotonia and fine motor weakness leading to poor pencil grasp. Very poor handwriting. She's very clumsy and floppy. She's also very tall and thin (my dh is 6'8"). She's about 52" and 42 lbs, which I think magnifies the floppyness. She responds pretty well to the lap pad that I have for her, but I am looking for other ideas. I fully believe her add tendencies tie into the sensory stuff, as does her teacher.

I have no knowledge about low tone/hypotonia - that was the one thing Ellie did not have any weakness in. Of course, right? Any links/suggestions for me?

BriNJ is offline INCIIDer - A Community Creator

Jen,